Game Review: Chrono Trigger

images (5)

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

Recently, I ordered Chrono Trigger for the DS off Amazon and it arrived on Monday the 20th of June! I was so excited to start playing it that I set it up for playing immediately! I’ve played most of the game before, but I never managed to complete it. Monday was the day it started! Over the weekend, I finished it! I’ll keep it short-ish and I’ll avoid as many spoilers as possible. However, there will be spoilers – some major spoilers, so if you’re not familiar with the game and don’t want to see spoilers – don’t read below the pictures!

Chrono Trigger is an RPG game that follows Crono and his friends on an adventure through time to save the world from impending doom!

When a newly developed teleportation device malfunctions, young Crono must journey through time to rescue a mysterious girl from an intricate web of past and present perils.

At the millenial fair Crono bumps into a mysterious girl who introduces herself as Marle. She joins him and they go to see Lucca unveil her latest invention: a teleportation machine. After it malfunctions when Marle trys it out, she vanishes. There the adventure begins! Crono, Lucca and Marle travel from pre-history through to the future. In every era they visit they meet a wide variety of characters – each who, in turn, join the team of time travelling heros on their quest.

I want to begin with: I loved this game! It’s a story driven game that has a great host of characters, a great plot, great game play and is just a lot of fun all round. I fell in love with all of the characters and throughout the game I was rooting for them. I wanted them to succeed in mission and to get home safely and live happily ever after.

 

During the game there were certain battles that were insanely difficult – so much so that it almost voided the potential enjoyment of the game. Sometimes, despite the amazing story and interesting characters, I got intensely frustrated with the difficulty – perhaps I’m just bad a games. However, this was in all, only a minor detail and legitimately the only criticism I can really express for the game as a whole. Ultimately, most battles merely took finding a working strategy and following it through and with a bit of perseverance and luck any battle will be manageable.

 

When I got to the final battle I couldn’t help but be concerned, I wondered if the ending of this game – like many others – would be an epic disappointment. It wasn’t. From a merely personal perspective, I thought the ending was perfect! Though, it was merely one of fourteen different endings.

 

The ending I got consisted of Glenn became a knight and was restored to his human form, Kino and Ayla, I assume, either got engaged and/or married, Magus goes on, what I assume, was a quest for Schala and Crono and Nadia got married. What confused me however, is with Lucca – she is taking a walk with a robot she’d built and finds a baby wrapped in a blanket and with a pendant, she picks up the baby and leaves. Who is the character? I presume the baby is somehow linked to a sequel. Seems like happy endings all round. Perhaps in the future I’ll play again for a different ending – to find out what they are. Great game, would play again! Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a classic RPG game. I think I might play the sequel games sometime.

 

I think I’ve said all I can say.

 

Until next time!

Warm hugs,

Morgenstern

Leave a Reply

