Movie Review: Suicide Squad

Spoiler Alert!!! Spoiler Alert!!!

12489243_1674589672821667_4430624289856009994_o

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

So, I saw Suicide Squad! You never would have guessed, would you? Hahahaha!

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.

I felt a little like I needed to suspend disbelief to a certain level while watching the movie. But one thing I took from the movie, that may be an unintentional thing is that it flips hero/villain roles on it’s head, sort of. Taking it from a purely entertainment stand point it had it’s merits and it brought an interesting concept to the table – the idea that a villain can be more than just a villain. Each of the team members made choices to get them where they were when first encountered in the movie. They come closer as a team and fight either for someone or because they’ve nothing better to do.

 

For the most part, I liked the character development – as holey as it might have been. But, at the same time, I still have questions. First off at the beginning of the movie Amanda Walker puts together a team of super villains – a group of expandable characters to do a thing – stop a terrorist Superman type, because we all know one can trust super villains to do that, right? I don’t get how any of that makes any sense. I still have no idea how to even rationally discuss the Suicide Squad movie. I feel like there was a lot of plot holes and the characters who were meant to be the villains were the only heroes in the story. They seemed like the nicest people in the movie. I liked that they put together a group of arguably villainous people to be the heroes, even if it was against their will – initially.

 

The story progressed from calm to the world is being destroyed so quickly! I think the events unfold over the period of a few days. I think? The mysterious and powerful entity had plenty opportunity to do the thing, but upon finding her brother actually does a thing and… fails. Unless, she wasn’t waiting that long. I don’t know. I can’t deny it was a heart crushing success – Regina Mills would have been proud!

 

I did enjoy it, as much as it may sound like I didn’t. Despite any plot holes or flaws in the movie, it was different to what I’d expect from DC and I like that. Go see that movie!

 

Until next time, warm hugs!

Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

