Billy Elliot The Musical & Dublin Zoo

Tuesday, 30th August 2016

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

Had a great weekend! Traveled to Dublin by train on Saturday and returned Sunday evening. Went up with a few friends to see Billy Elliot the Musical and also went to the zoo. Met goat bae (his name is Goaty McGoatson) at the zoo. Good times, good times.

 

Billy Elliot The Musical

Saw Billy Elliot the Musical on Saturday!!!! Surprise? Honestly, I had high expectations – but they were, without a doubt surpassed. I’m not a musical theater expert – but I am judgmental. I would highly recommend it to anyone! Back to the point, the musical – to my knowledge – is the musical based on the film (please don’t quote me on that).

Set in a northern mining town during the miners’ strike of 1984/’85, Billy Elliot is the inspirational story of a young boy’s fight to make his dream come true. Follow Billy’s journey from boxing ring to ballet class where he discovers a passion for dance that unites his family, inspires his community and changes his life forever.

I’ve been wondering how I’m going to be able to articulate my thoughts on the performance in a comprehensible manner. But I’m not sure I can. I was one of those lucky bastards with a front row seat – for me the close proximity to the stage really added to the experience. The music was fantastic, the story was intense and funny and outright awesome and the cast, oh the cast – let’s say I’m super jealous of their talent, perhaps I could steal it? Go see it, right now! I mean, finish reading this first, but afterwards – off you go. An amazing experience that was legit worth the money. To prove how awesome it is, here’s a link to the song Electricity! Also, anger dancing! Lastly, for your enjoyment (and I really couldn’t resist) one of the funniest scenes/songs of the musical! Anyone else seen it live? Did you enjoy it?

 

Dublin Zoo

Sunday be zoo day! Spent hours walking around the zoo, quite literally. There were some quite funny and memorable occurrences during those few hours. Like the goat bae! Also Whale Skull!

DSCF1129

Whale skull. Much big, So huge, very awesome! At the zoo we saw some orangutans and other primates, birds and other animals generally seen on farms. There were primates trying to steal blankets from each other and elephants playing in the water with branches. Both were adorable! One of them struggled to get rid of said branch while getting out of the water and actually got very frustrated. Both adorable and terrifying. The seal enclosure had an area where one could view them underwater (which was so cool). Photo’s didn’t do it justice (probably because I have a terrible camera).

 

 

Aside from being tired and somewhat sore/stiff from walking so much, the weekend was amazing and I really hope I get to do it again. Genuinely! As soon as I can go back to Dublin to see a live performance and perhaps go to the Zoo again, I’m there!

 

Until next time, warm hugs,

Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

