Book Review: The Assassin’s Blade The Throne of Glass Novellas by Sarah J. Mass

Tuesday, 13th September 2016

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

The Assassins Blade:

The Throne of Glass Novellas

Sarah J Mass

Assassins Blade

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassins’ Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam.

In these action-packed prequel novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery . . .

I finished the book last night and let me just say: I love me some bad-ass female characters! First off, I would recommend the book to anyone! The characters are fascinating, the story and the world it creates are absolutely brilliant and it’s so well written it’s crazy! The book had five short stories, each telling of a different adventure and revealing the consequences of prior actions. Each of the stories are so intertwined by cause and effect and I loved that. All the same, it followed Celaena on her journey toward becoming her own person through love, loss and betrayal.

I was tempted to start writing a review (though really can this be called a review?) immediately upon finishing the book (at 2 am no less) but, I couldn’t. I finished the book a few hours ago, but even thinking about the events (particularly of the fifth story) trigger the feelings I felt during reading and immediately after. The stories caused a raw emotive response, to events the characters experienced – characters who were very real for a time and often suffering very much. To be able to establish such a real connection with a character described in words on a page, is heart breaking and amazing.

I couldn’t recommend the book more! I live for books like this, for stories that capture the imagination and make you feel like more than just a passive spectator, you become part of the world created by the writer, you become friends with the characters and love them and more over you share their pain, their joy and all of their experiences.

Okay, maybe this isn’t much of a review but I definitely, wholly recommend the book. I think you’ll enjoy it! Also, according to Good Reads I’m 33 books behind for my end of year goal of 50 books read. Oops, may have to change that!

Until next time, warm hugs!
Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

