TV Series Review: Stranger Things (Season One)

Saturday, 8th October 2016

4118bc185081d7b9ff5160dc6e5304cbaab081a7

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

This thrilling Netflix-original drama stars award-winning actress Winona Ryder as Joyce Byers, who lives in a small Indiana town in 1983 — inspired by a time when tales of science fiction captivated audiences. When Joyce’s 12-year-old son, Will, goes missing, she launches a terrifying investigation into his disappearance with local authorities. As they search for answers, they unravel a series of extraordinary mysteries involving secret government experiments, unnerving supernatural forces, and a very unusual little girl.

So, on Thursday, I essentially spent the entire day watching Stranger Things and I loved it! I don’t really want to get into many spoilers – but then again who reads reviews and expects it to be totally spoiler free and totally unbiased?

 

The series in 8 episodes long, episodes lasting from 40 minutes to roughly an hour in duration. It was pretty addictive. I hadn’t even intended on watching it really – I had intended to spend the day watching Once Upon A Time (I am so far behind on that series!) but Netflix was being an ass-hat… So , I didn’t watch Once Upon A Time and I legitimately had no regrets! None!

 

I thought the show was creative and very interesting. Had quite a Sci-Fi, (horror?) esq vibe to it – a sort of throwback to E.T. Eleven reminded me of Jodie from Beyond: Two Souls, which is cool – both are really cool characters.

 

I suppose the fact that the season had only 8 seasons limited the amount they could achieve within a season. Some details seemed brushed over entirely, or not given enough attention. However, the show is well worth watching and I think the overall story is fairly easy to follow and the story as a whole becomes clear throughout the season.

 

Until next time, warm hugs

Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

