Game Review: Outlast

Saturday, 15th October 2016

outlast-header

 

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

Outlast is a survival horror game. In order to survive, the player must either run or hide from enemies. Combat is not possible and attempts to confront an enemy will result in death. Players can hide in lockers and under beds. However, enemies will look for them in these areas, so care must be taken. When running, the player can look back at their pursuer. Closing doors will impede enemies and squeezing through small spaces can lose them.

The only item players will have equipped is a camcorder. The camcorder is battery operated and includes night vision, which is used to navigate through dark areas. Having the camcorder on helps to record events and put notes in the player’s notebook. Batteries need to be collected throughout the game to keep the camcorder’s night vision working. The story unravels through documents that can be found in various locations. They appear as blue folders with “CONFIDENTIAL” stamped on the front.

I’m insanely late to the game, but I’ve finally played Outlast to completion. I imagine the game is probably fairly familiar to most people at this stage. In short it’s a first person survival horror game created by Red Barrels in  I’d seen game play before – so I knew quite a bit about the game. Enough anyway. I really enjoyed playing the game. Unlike a lot of other horror games, Outlast doesn’t rely completely on jump scares – though they are used. Jump scares while shocking, quickly get boring. Anyway, the game keeps up a steady level of tension throughout play, which is great. The fact that I’d seen it, probably impacted how I played (though can’t say I necessarily played better or got less scared), but perhaps I was less scared because I knew what to be expecting throughout the game. Probably would have been different if I hadn’t seen any game play before playing it for myself, I think I’ll go into Outlast II blind. Make it more fun, and scary. Speaking of, I played the demo, also finishing it today. I’d seen game play of it though, before playing – but it’s still amazing. I haven’t completed the Whistleblower DLC (soon, I shall tackle the game), but I have – again – seen game play.

 

Back to the point – Outlast: it is, overall, a great game that wonderfully sets up a tense atmosphere and maintains it pretty well throughout the game. The only downside, due to limitations in video gaming in general, there were only a few limited antagonist characters and once you, the player, figure out their path/routine (which these characters will have) it makes it easier and, in a sense, almost takes from the tension. Also the ending is arguably anticlimactic, it wasn’t bad by any means. However, I’d definitely recommend the game though, especially if you love horror games.

 

If you’d like to play the PC version of of the game, it is available on Steam here, I’m sure it’s available from other places (such as PS4 store, etc.). Hopefully the link works.

 

Until next time, warm hugs,

Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

