Movie Review: Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them

Wednesday, 14th December 2016

fantasticbeasts-art

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

Yesterday, I went to see Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them with a friend. Overall, I enjoyed the movie. There may be a few minor spoilors but I shall endeviour to keep this as spoiler free. I mean, for anyone who might not have seen the movie yet. (Has anyone not watched it yet?)

 

I’m gonna start with the positives: it looked spectacular, the cinematography was so cool! The creatures in it looked great. One thing I particularly like about the world of Harry Potter is the creativity that went in to building it and making it real and enjoyable. I thought the cast was fantastic and there were so many amazing moments in the movie.

 

However, the movie wasn’t without it’s flaws: the overall plot of the story wasn’t particularly interesting and I felt like it lacked in mystery and quite often in context. A lot of things were mentioned fleetingly and weren’t given much context or explanation. Perhaps to fully follow the book you’d need to be fairly familiar with the book on which the movie is based – I haven’t read it, so I don’t know if that has any baring on anything. I also found certain characters weren’t particularly memorable – names at least. I think I spent a little too much time trying to remember character names *cough cough* Credence *cough cough* everyone except Newt *cough* … I may have looked that up… heh…

 

Personal Rating: 3/5

 

Until next time, warm hugs

Morgenstern!

Leave a Reply

