The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

the-road-not-taken-robert-frost-1-638

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

And that made all the difference.

How’s it shakin’ bacon?

I think I heard this poem first when I was at a Speech and Drama class. But, for some reason – out of all the poems I’ve heard heard or read – this one stuck with me. I couldn’t ever pinpoint what or why, but it was fascinating. Over the last while the poem was on my mind as I tried to figure out what about this particular poem was so memorable. I can’t help but conclude that perhaps it’s because of the metaphorical nature of the poem as a whole.

The narrator, a young person comes across diverging paths, or a significant decision in their life. They take some time to ponder which path they should take and finally decide on the path he deems less traveled, the overgrown path that has not often been explored. After making his choice he wonders what the other path may have had in store for him and perhaps even laments for the lost opportunity, reckoning that once his choice had been made there would never be a chance for him to follow the first path.

I like to think that I remembered it because it’s so relatable. As though, I’m travelling through this wood too, taking certain paths and wondering what the other may have held if I had chosen it instead, or perhaps even regretting certain choices.

Until next time, warm hugs,

Morgenstern!

P.S: If you’ve any comments or thoughts on the poem, I’d love to hear in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

