Nightmares!

How’s it shaken, bacon?

 

I’ve never really been one to have nightmares. I can’t remember any nightmares from before the age of, I want to say about 23. Further, in the last 2 (almost 3) years since turning 23, I can only remember having about three to five (two of which I think barely qualify as more strange). Only three caused genuine and lingering fear. Two of which have occurred in a week of each other. Thought sharing them might be interesting. Go forth and enjoy!

 

The first two revolved around a large snake like monster eating people and me watching on. First time I was at university, inside – looking out. The second, I was at home and came to the door to find it – and I left the building. Certainly found them strange, but at the time they didn’t particularly scare me.

 

About a year (maybe two) ago, I had a nightmare, I was in the family car with my brother. He was in the drivers seat and I was on the passenger side. An elderly woman with shoulder length, wavy, grey curls was standing outside the car, walking around the front. She started at the passenger side, walked around the front – slowly – and to the driver side. She did this a few times (she was watching us) and tried to open the passenger door, which I locked before she could, and she dashed to the driver side and opened the door. She tried to pull my brother out of the car, but I remember leaning over him to stop her taking him and she grabbed me instead. My brother too grabbed me – to protect me… that’s where I woke up. I was terrified for days, so much so I couldn’t even talk about it. Never told anyone. I was scared this old lady would come back if I did. She never did. I’d been reading a lot of creepy pastas at the time, I think they’d probably freaked me out.

 

About two weeks ago, I had another nightmare. I was pregnant. I don’t know what about it scared me so much. In the dream I was out with my parents, weather was nice but things felt heavy with things that were unsaid, with tension. I remember looking at my stomach, my hands on it and my mother being very concerned, crying even. Nothing particularly strange occurred, nothing out of the ordinary… except my being pregnant. I mean, the odds are it’s stress – balancing a part time job that I can’t say I like… at all and full time education, with quite the work load.

 

The most recent one was terrified, I’m still scared and confused by it. In the dream I was exploring a cave or a mine alone and I was attacked by a woman (I think) and get an axe to the head. I walk home and explain what happened and I’m told by a woman (don’t know who she was, can’t describe her either) that the cave/ mine is cursed. A woman was murdered there (axe to the head) and whoever goes in there dies. She also suggests I’m dead(?). I end up killing someone. Their ghost (or something) targets me and I end up in a strange hospital.

 

The hospital was like an aquarium, as in above the ceiling of the room (which was all glass) was a load of water – like the ocean. The walls were also glass, but on to my left it was like a larger containment area, like the ceiling and was filled with water and aquatic life. To my right the wall was glass, but more like a fish tank type thing. On the other side there were three people, one man and I think the other two were women. All three were looking at me, smiling and pointing up and I looked at the ceiling, and the glass was cracked. The cracks spread and smashed and the room flooded. I started sinking and then I woke up. I didn’t get back to sleep after. If nothing else the experience has given me the skeleton of a story. Perhaps I’ll be able to start fulfilling my goal of writing a novel this year.

 

Until next time, warm hugs!
Morgenstern!

Leave a comment